Playing Hymns on Classical Guitar

Discussions relating to the classical guitar which don't fit elsewhere.
CarolBe

Playing Hymns on Classical Guitar

Post by CarolBe » Sat Jul 29, 2017 9:12 pm

Hello,
I'm very new to playing the classical guitar. I've been playing piano for many years and I really enjoy playing hymns and have MANY hymnals and other piano music. I'm having a hard time finding hymns or other Christian music for guitar that is played like classical guitar, does that make sense? I'm not looking for tablature, but for melodies and harmonies. I am not anywhere near advanced, but I don't mind building up a library to aspire to. Also, would the music I have for piano work?
Thank you for your help!!
Carol

doug

Re: Playing Hymns on Classical Guitar

Post by doug » Sun Jul 30, 2017 12:50 am

I have Mel Bay's, "Gospel Favorites for Classic Guitar". Per-Olov Kindgren has a good arrangement of ,"Amazing Grace"
2017 Jason Wolverton spruce/maple, 640, "Luz Blanca"
2016 Kenny Hill New World Estudio 640, cedar
2015 Kenny Hill Performance 640, C/IR

doug

Post by doug » Sun Jul 30, 2017 12:56 am

Another, and a little more "intermediate" book, is Hal Leonard's, "Sacred Songs for Classical Guitar".
2017 Jason Wolverton spruce/maple, 640, "Luz Blanca"
2016 Kenny Hill New World Estudio 640, cedar
2015 Kenny Hill Performance 640, C/IR

Eberhard Mueller

Post by Eberhard Mueller » Sun Jul 30, 2017 5:32 am