Flamenco guitar for Classical

Discussions relating to the classical guitar which don't fit elsewhere.
Guitarhancock

Flamenco guitar for Classical

Post by Guitarhancock » Tue Sep 12, 2017 3:23 am

I have two very good guitars, ...a spruce and cedar classical Would I "enjoy" a flamenco guitar to play classical music?

What difference in sound would I hear?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

Kurt Penner

Re: Flamenco guitar for Classical

Post by Kurt Penner » Tue Sep 12, 2017 3:45 am

I have no experience with flamenco guitars specifically, but FWIW, classical guitar music always sounds interesting to me when played on other instruments. I sometimes play my pieces on my steel string Larrivee and quite enjoy the change in timbre.

KP

Ramon Amira
Teacher

Post by Ramon Amira » Tue Sep 12, 2017 3:58 am

A classical guitar is perfectly suitable for playing flamenco. In fact, there are several famous virtuoso flamenco guitarists who play on a classical. Use the spruce. You will have to get clear static cling golpeadores.

The difference in sound is mainly in the bass - deeper, fuller, but the trebles will also have somewhat more body. The overall sound will be less thin and less bright than a flamenco guitar. You will likely also have higher action, which of course could be lowered.

Ramon
Classical and Flamenco guitar lessons via Skype worldwide - Classical and Flamenco guitars from Spain

Guitarhancock

Post by Guitarhancock » Tue Sep 12, 2017 4:06 am

Ramon, my question is would I like playing classical music on a flamenco guitar?

Alan Green

Post by Alan Green » Tue Sep 12, 2017 5:23 am

The short answer - having tried one in Madrid a few years back - is no. A flamenco guitar is built for flamenco; you lose the warm bass sound and a lot of the sustain and it would be a very frustrating experience.

David Norton

Post by David Norton » Tue Sep 12, 2017 11:50 am