Pc software for composition

Discussions relating to the classical guitar which don't fit elsewhere.

Pc software for composition

Postby Steve Sharp » Wed Nov 14, 2012 11:56 am

Hello all. Not sure if there is a post about this all ready so sorry if there is.
What software do you use to write music. Guitar pro, finale or something else. I have been looking about for something that give a professional look.
I have been using guitar pro 6 but due to not being able to move rests have started useing finale. This is a good prog but not sure if there is something better out there.
Steve Sharp

Re: Pc software for composition

Postby tom0311 » Wed Nov 14, 2012 12:06 pm

I used to use sibelius when I was a music technology student, I fancied buying it the other day and then saw the price tag. I promptly downloaded musescore for my imac which is free for all platforms and although the midi sounds are pretty crap I'm thoroughly impressed with the software. Give it a try, it's free after all :) The community is also fairly lively and they are releasing a new version soon, there are very good youtube videos made by musescore to help you.
tom0311

Postby igycrctl » Wed Nov 14, 2012 2:39 pm

I recommend lilypond. It is also free. A bit of a learning curve, but well worth it in my opinion.
igycrctl

Postby Schneider » Wed Nov 14, 2012 3:23 pm

Schneider

Postby Steve Sharp » Wed Nov 14, 2012 7:04 pm

Thanks :merci: for tips I will download Lilypong and musescore to see what they are like. Just looked up the price of Sibelius i am glade i was sitting down :lol:
Steve Sharp

Postby tom0311 » Mon Nov 19, 2012 12:33 pm

Musescore is a pick up and use piece of software, lillypond is a steeper learning curve but looks more powerful. Whichever one suits you really :) and yes I cannot believe how expensive it is when there are open source equivalents.
tom0311

Postby WilliamSchart » Tue Nov 20, 2012 6:39 pm