Switched to Classical guitar after 10+ years of metal. Such a wonderful instrument for Composition

Theory and practice of composition and arranging for classical guitar, discussion of works in progress, etc.
Forum rules
III Our MP3, WMV, MOV, OGG, AVI, Authors' rights

Composers' Workshop
Theory and practice of composition and arranging for classical guitar, discussion of works in progress, etc.

Once you have subscribed to the 002 group, you can attach the following types of files to your messages:
Audio : .mp3 .ogg .wav .flac
Video : .avi .flv .mov .wmv
Score : .pdf .jpg .gif .png
Finale: .mus
camer138

Switched to Classical guitar after 10+ years of metal. Such a wonderful instrument for Composition

Post by camer138 » Fri May 01, 2015 9:14 pm

I have been a musician for almost 12 years now and 10 of those years were spent as a complete metalhead. I recently decided it was time for change as so many other things in my life were also changing. Nylon guitar so far has been extremely rewarding to play and compose for, a complete breath of fresh air.

Here is my first "classical" composition. (would like to hear from you experts if that is really the genre I'm writing in here)

Youtube

Guitar used was a Cordoba GK Pro Negra mic'd with an Electro Voice RE-20 mic running into an SPL Crimson Audio Interface.

I haven't seen any clips of RE-20 users micing up their acoustic guitars with one, as its mainly a vocal mic. I, however, was pleased with the result.. it seems to work well with the sound I'm going for.

I've also been using the guitar to write 2-3 voicings for my orchestral music. So glad I made the switch.

Any other users here go classical after being stuck in a specific genre for so long?

Aseret

Re: Switched to Classical guitar after 10+ years of metal. Such a wonderful instrument for Composition

Post by Aseret » Sat May 02, 2015 5:59 am

I am not an expert. The music is very pleasant but I just find the background accompaniement too present.