Cordoba C12 or Yamaha GC32

Cordoba C12 or Yamaha GC32

Postby doug » Mon Nov 25, 2013 9:31 pm

Has anyone played both of these, and compared them?
2013 Yamaha GC32C
doug

Re: Cordoba C12 or Yamaha GC32

Postby Linda » Mon Nov 25, 2013 10:04 pm

Hi Doug,

My guitar is a Cordoba Espana. I bought it used, and had my guitar teacher check it out for me, he approved it. He said it was a lucky find, only costing $250.00 It has a really nice warm tone. I don't know how it compares to the other more expensive models, so I can't comment on that. On the label inside it says it is a MOD-40-R. With a serial # 50010984. I am curious as to what all that means, if anything. I do know, it is a great guitar, and I love playing it. So does my guitar teacher.

linea
linea
Linda

Postby doug » Tue Nov 26, 2013 2:50 pm

I think that it being a great-sounding guitar, and you enjoying playing it is more important than whatever the label says. After all, it's all about the music.
I am fairly new to playing classical guitar, and I started with a mid-range Yamaha that I enjoy playing. It has laminate back and sides, and I understand....from reading topics on here....that solid wood instruments develop a better sound over time. ....so I'm looking to upgrade.
2013 Yamaha GC32C
doug

Postby jeff_hatcher » Tue Nov 26, 2013 4:31 pm

http://www.classicalguitardelcamp.com/viewtopic.php?f=107&t=75664&p=884450&hilit=cordoba+c12#p884450

EJReyes started a discussion on the C12 here

You're trying to compare and contrast two different beasts here. The C12 is a lattice braced instrument, the GC32 is fan-braced.

Both polyurethane finishes. Likely to be very different. I've heard lots of good things about the C12, not a whole lot about the GC32, although I am certain it is a well built, decent sounding instrument.

Hopefully, you can get a chance to try out both.
Unidentified (Eusebio Huipe?) Cedar top/Pau Ferro B/S
Cordoba C9 SP/MH
Cordoba Fusion 14 RS
Cordoba GK Studio Negra
jeff_hatcher