Making a guitar with Roy Courtnall

Construction and repair of Classical Guitar and related instruments
josswinn

Making a guitar with Roy Courtnall

Post by josswinn » Fri Aug 18, 2017 9:16 am

As I said in my introductory post, I am new to guitar making and am being taught one-to-one by Roy Courtnall, author of Making Master Guitars. I expect it to take 20-30 days in total and have so far spent just four days with Roy. My time permits only one or two days a week working with Roy so it won't be finished until early next year. It will be walnut back and sides, cedar neck and a lattice spruce top.

Needless to say, it's a fantastic experience and education and I am documenting it as a reminder of my learning; what to remember, look out for, and to do when I come to build a guitar on my own. I intend to publish a blog of all the photos (there will be hundreds!) with descriptions and cross-references to his book when the guitar is complete, but thought that members here would be interested in seeing a few photos from the first four days.

ImageDay 1: Gluing the neck to the head by Joss Winn, on Flickr

ImageDay 2: Making the solera by Joss Winn, on Flickr

ImageDay 3: Cleaning up the head slots by Joss Winn, on Flickr

ImageDay 4: Shaping the head by Joss Winn, on Flickr

tom3949

Re: Making a guitar with Roy Courtnall

Post by tom3949 » Fri Aug 18, 2017 11:03 am

That's really cool. Look forward to seeing more of this.

Welcome to the forum.

bftobin

Post by bftobin » Fri Aug 18, 2017 1:38 pm

Thanks. I really enjoy seeing these builds.

lifewithasong

Post by lifewithasong » Fri Aug 18, 2017 1:39 pm

This is wonderful!!
Esse quam videri

vesa

Post by vesa » Sat Aug 19, 2017 6:24 am

Thanks Joss.
Why not continue this thread?
Many of us has made their first ones with ¨Making master guitars¨ in the lefthand and a chisel in the right, so it is interesting to follow how the live teaching situation is.