Which guitar to choose-Aparicio? Raimundo? Alhambra? Admira?

Construction and repair of Classical Guitar and related instruments

Which guitar to choose-Aparicio? Raimundo? Alhambra? Admira?

Postby ogeva » Wed Oct 21, 2009 12:53 pm

Hello,
I am sure you have all seen many of these "which guitar?" posts, so I'll try to be as specific as I can, because I did narrow it down to several options.
First let me introduce myself - my name is Oren, I live in Israel, and I have been playing guitar for about 25 years now.
I played mostly electric guitars through the years - mostly jazz, but also blues, rock etc.
Recently I have been more interested in classical and flamenco style playing, and I have begun to study it more seriously. However, I have found that my old, beaten Admira Paloma does not inspire me, and I need a more fitting instrument.
Ok, after that said and done, I'll tell you what I have tried and liked, and I would like to hear the thoughts of people with more experience with classical guitars than me about these models.
First, I have tried the Admira artista and Admira Virtuoso. Both are nice, but I have seen flaws in their construction. Both play and sound very nice, I like the artista better mainly because of the nice rosewood sides and back - though the back is laminated (is there any advantage to solid sides? I mean, when the back is a laminate?). These are the cheapest of the bunch.
Second, there is the Alhambra 4P. This guitar seemed better constructed than the Admiras but in the same ballpark. the 5P is too expensive in Israel, over my budget.