New member on Martha's Vineyard

Daniel Waters

New member on Martha's Vineyard

Post by Daniel Waters » Sat Aug 19, 2017 2:59 am

Greetings to all. I live on a small island off Cape Cod, and am purely an amateur player. I studied classical guitar in college from 1973 to 1977, then graduated into the practical world of gainful employment, but have always enjoyed playing music for myself and friends. I grew up in Brazil, so naturally I also play bossa-nova.

There was a spell of about 20 years when I stopped playing music, partly because I became immersed in the world of martial arts and had to cut off my nails in order not to injure people, and partly because I had no time. But a few years ago, retiring from aikido, I picked up the guitar again and was surprised to find that I still had the basic technique I had worked so hard to learn. Today I'm probably a better player than I was when I was young.

Not really a purist, I'm curious about ways to obtain new sounds without learning a new instrument. I have a wide-necked electric guitar, for example, that plays like a classical but sounds very jazzy. Recently, by chance, I purchased an old six-string alto classical guitar made for the Niibori company in Japan. It is tuned B-E-A-D-F♯/G♭-B. It's great fun to play, with a bright voice that sounds somewhat lute-like.

I look forward to following your posts, and occasionally contributing if I can!

George Crocket

Re: New member on Martha's Vineyard

Post by George Crocket » Sat Aug 19, 2017 7:12 am

Greetings, Daniel. Welcome to the forum. What a nice part of the world you live in!