Greetings from Chicago

JNWills

Greetings from Chicago

Post by JNWills » Tue Sep 05, 2017 1:49 pm

Hello, My name is John and I live near Chicago, IL. I'm 28 years old and started playing guitar at age 12. I began studying classical guitar casually on and off at age 15 via some private instruction and the Aaron Shearer methods. While I play electric guitar in professional settings (rock, blues, jazz), I fell in love with nylon classical guitar and have played on and off for enjoyment for years now. My favorite composers are Tarrega, Sor, and Bach. I've played works including the 20 studies by Sor (Segovia edition), 15 two part inventions by Bach for guitar, Suite 996 by Bach, and various works by Tarrega, Carcassi, etc. I prefer the classical through romantic periods for their beautiful expressiveness. I do not know much about the later 20th century composers but would like to learn and have an open mind to all styles. I am primarily self taught and like to watch youtube videos or listen to professional performances for guidance and emulation.

I discovered the Delcamp website and it's chronological list of composers with youtube links and consider it to be one of the most useful guides I have come across in 10 years. My only other way of sifting through the overwhelming amount of material out there has been to look at college level audition guidelines for ideas on pieces to play. Otherwise, its often that "isolated amateur" sense of scratching my head on what places to play, and so choosing to play what feels or sounds right to me.

I love and express myself via electric guitar, but if I envision my "playing for enjoyment" and playing for the soul, its the nylon guitar that provides a meditative introspection and escape with countless beautiful pieces to play.

Here's me performing Bach Two Part Invention No. 6:
https://youtu.be/btD0DDCs77I

I look forward to joining the forum.
Thanks,
John

Erik Zurcher

Re: Greetings from Chicago