Hello from Seattle

baritenor

Hello from Seattle

Post by baritenor » Thu Sep 07, 2017 2:30 am

I'm a lifelong musician who has picked up and set down the guitar multiple times over the years, only finally having it 'click' this past January. Until now, I'd learn a few chords, strum along until I got brave and tried to learn my first barre, then would give up, only to get the urge and start over again months or years down the line.

Two discoveries have helped me persist over the past year, 1) learning that a death-grip isn't essential to good technique, and fingerstyle players from Chet Atkins to José Gonzalez. After several months of learning by watching tape or reading tabs, I've hit a plateau and felt the need for a change.

Coming from voice and piano, being able to play the same frequency from multiple strings was an alien concept. This, combined with the frustration of being able to 'read' score with my eyes but not my fingers were definite hurdles to progression. I was aware classical guitar existed, but still know very little about the repertoire. I decided to kill both birds with one stone, and picked up some technique books, and haven't looked back. It's been humbling to work through what feels like my old bastien/alfred technique books from childhood, but it's gratifying to be able to playback recordings and hear how far I've come in a short time.

For musical goals, I'm a large fan of 'early' music up through the baroque period(madrigals) then jump over the rest until impressionism and jazz starts to pick up in the 20th century. After that, most of the music that's been able to capture my attention are folky singer/songwriter types

I wish I could say I'm working on pieces, but mostly it's just the little studies in my book, and brief attempts at some of the popular tunes I see cropping up in forums often(Brouwer's un dia de noviembre, Romanza, Carulli's prelude in Am).

Hoping to learn more!