Fretboard - wide or narrow?

A "classroom" environment for exchanging Technical Questions & Answers, How-To's, music theory concepts, etc.
Poldy

Fretboard - wide or narrow?

Postby Poldy » Thu Jun 29, 2006 7:15 pm

I played for about 5y on guitar with wide (classic) fretboard, but now I am going to buy "electro" classical guitar, which has narrow (not big difference in size) fretboard...

Guitar is Ibanez GA5WCE...
http://www.guitar.com.au/guitars/acoust ... WCENT.html

Are there any disadventages while playing (fingerpick) classical songs on narrow fretboard?

Thank you.

krist

Postby krist » Thu Jun 29, 2006 9:07 pm

I have no experience with cutaways but I think that classical music must be played at a classical guitar. I am rather onservative by that.
Like I say I have no experience with cutaways: what is the reaon of a cutaway anyway? It's no classical guitar, it's no folk-guitar neither. Waht is it?I know that these instruments are expencive.
So why not invest in a real good classical guitar?

dhwebb

Postby dhwebb » Thu Jun 29, 2006 11:02 pm

The guitar he listed is called a classical guitar, just with an Ibanez twist to it I guess. I would think that the narrower neck might be easier on small hands, but I like my standard width cg. I've also heard that a cutaway can cause issues with the sound the instrument makes.

Not to knock Ibanez at all, but the heart of their products are electric guitars. I think there are better makers of classicals out there for the same price.

Brent

Re: Fretboard - wide or narrow?

Postby Brent » Fri Jun 30, 2006 2:05 am

Poldy wrote:Are there any disadventages while playing (fingerpick) classical songs on narrow fretboard?

Yes. The classical neck is the width it is because that's a width that works very well for the kind of music that is played on this kind of instrument. How's that for circular logic?