Beginners luck... i guess.

Choice of classical guitar strings and technical issues connected with their use.
wojtekowski

Beginners luck... i guess.

Post by wojtekowski » Sat Aug 19, 2017 4:32 pm

Hello,

I'm completely new to the "guitar world", and have absolutely no knowledge regarding anything related to guitars - except that they make sounds hehe.

So this is my third day, i've been trying to follow a learning guide/course however one of my strings decided that it needs to change its lifestyle and snapped.

ANYWAYS, its not the reason of why it snapped that bothers me (maybe it was an old string, as the guitar is 'used' from e - b a y, or just weak material) but what really twists my brain is which strings should I buy?! (HELP!)

I feel like picking up a pair of strings at my local store and throwing my money at the cashpoint will be a waste of time as its very likely I will buy the wrong ones.

I've been reading online however many different pages say different things, the issue is that my guitar originally has these four golden-ish steel (spring?) strings and two nylon strings however I cannot find a pack of these on e - b a y

What do i do ? :shock: :shock: :shock:

George Crocket

Re: Beginners luck... i guess.

Post by George Crocket » Sat Aug 19, 2017 9:36 pm

Oh dear, wojtekowski. Welcome to the forum. Help is coming. Meanwhile, please introduce yourself here.
George
2010 Stephen Eden spruce/cocobolo classical guitar
2012 Stephen Eden cedar/IRW classical guitar

lagartija

Post by lagartija » Sat Aug 19, 2017 11:53 pm

Which string broke?
Can you post a picture of your guitar?
Most sets of ordinary strings for classical guitar have three strings (larger diameter, lowest pitches) that are nylon core wound with silver plated wire. Which do look like "springs" I suppose.The golden look is probably because they have oxidized slightly.
The three highest pitched strings are usually nylon monofilament, but one of them, the third string, is sometimes carbon.