How Do You Handle Butterflies?

Classical Guitar technique: studies, scales, arpeggios, theory
Forum rules
IV Laws governing the quotation/citation of music

For discussion of studies, scales, arpeggios and theory.

Postby Bailey » Sat Feb 18, 2012 4:43 pm

Let me preface this by saying that I'm a beginner student; 6 months under my belt so far; and enjoying CG a lot.

But, one of the things that I'm starting to experience is a bad case of butterflies right at the start of my lesson. I'm not sure where it's coming from. My teacher has been very supportive and provides me with a lot of positive feedback in terms of how I''m progressing.

But, as the music moves from beginner exercises to intermediate exercises / pieces, I'm starting to develop this pre-lesson stage-fright which is, at this point, really more than butterflies; it's showing up as shaking in my right hand. It goes away with time in the lesson, but it's at the start of the lesson when I'm demonstrating what I've learned over the past week. So, it couldn't be coming at a worse time, as far as I'm concerned.

Anyone else get these jitters? If so, how do you handle them?

Bailey
Hill Performance 2013
Hippner Hauser 2011
Bailey

Re: How Do You Handle Butterflies?

Postby TomPage » Sat Feb 18, 2012 4:54 pm

Yes, many if not most people. Search "performance anxiety" and "stage fright" on the forum and you will see it is one of the most common topics of discussion. I suspect you will pretty quickly become comfortable enough with your teacher that it will rarely be an issue in lessons. That's both good and bad. Good for obvious reasons, but bad in that you get to a performance situation where you are not so comfortable as with your teacher and the issues rear up again. So do the forum search and read away. You will find the bottom line is: