Reading from scores during the concert?

Teachers introduce their students.
Forum rules
III Ours MP3, WMV, MOV, FLV et AVI, Author’s rights
XIV BBCode for embedding a YouTube video in your message

In addition to the regular forum rules, teachers who post videos of their minor-age students must have received the permission of the student's parent(s). In certain countries such as France, Germany and Portugal, there are also "rights to images".
Aor8282

Reading from scores during the concert?

Post by Aor8282 » Mon May 08, 2017 8:20 am

Hi all!

I'm a classical guitar teacher in a conservatory.
Nowadays, I prepare my new students for their first concert.
I thought it could be a mild beggining for them to let them read from scores while they play their piece in the concert. They play pretty easy pieces of course.
Lesson no.19 by Aguado for example.
But what do you think about it? Is it essential to instruct them to learn the pieces by heart for the concert?

CathyCate

Re: Reading from scores during the concert?

Post by CathyCate » Mon May 08, 2017 10:47 am

Currently, memorization is the gold standard in recital. It allows for better flow from student to student, without the need for fussing with sheet music, music stand height, placement etc. etc. Depending on the number of selections and students, the concert could go on forever...or seem to. Ultimately, you want students to connect with the audience. Anything that blocks the view may interfere with this intimate communication.