Are footstools or supports the standard?

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...

Are footstools or supports the standard?

Postby FatStrat890 » Sat Dec 03, 2011 11:46 pm

I'm somewhat new to classical guitar especially when it comes to posture. My question is, is it generally accepted that one should play with a footstool or guitar support? I always imagined that it would be standard to use neither. Just a chair and your guitar.
FatStrat890

Re: Are footstools or supports the standard?

Postby lagartija » Sun Dec 04, 2011 12:28 am

Hello fatstrat890 , Welcome to Delcamp forum!
Perhaps you could take the time to introduce yourself to the forum here and get a true Delcamp welcome. To learn more about this forum and its rules, please have a look at our welcome page.

The reason people use a footstool or guitar support is because of position we hold the guitar for best access for both the right and the left hand. Most people find that using a footstool or support is necessary to put the guitar in the best place without twisting or crossing a leg over the other. Many positions are possible, and the exact position one holds the guitar depends on your body proportions.
When the sun shines, bask.
__/^^^^^o>
Classical Guitar forever!
lagartija

Postby FatStrat890 » Sun Dec 04, 2011 1:26 am

Thanks so much for the warm welcome! I'll be sure to introduce myself and check out the rules(I'm sorry if I've broken any in this thread). And thank you for such a thorough answer to my question!
FatStrat890

Postby lagartija » Sun Dec 04, 2011 1:31 am

FatStrat890 wrote:Thanks so much for the warm welcome! I'll be sure to introduce myself and check out the rules(I'm sorry if I've broken any in this thread). And thank you for such a thorough answer to my question!

You are quite welcome. You haven't broken any rules, so don't worry! I look forward to reading your intro and seeing you around the forum. :bye:
When the sun shines, bask.