Right shoulder pain: posture or guitar size?

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
amojobim

Right shoulder pain: posture or guitar size?

Postby amojobim » Wed Dec 21, 2011 6:16 am

Hi everybody,
I have been playing classical guitar for the last 10 years. About 5 years ago I had a tendinitis, followed by a tennis elbow in my right arm. It took me a while to get rid of the tennis elbow pain (through chiropractics and exercises for my arm) and in the mean time I radically changed my posture. I think the posture I have now is similar to what the Gilardino method prescribes. I use a foot stool and the guitar is at an angle with respect to my left leg, i.e., the side of the guitar does not lie flat on my left leg. I found that in this way I have more room between my body and my left elbow, and my right arm can rest more comfortably on the body of the guitar.
A couple of years ago I started experiencing pain in my right shoulder. I'm experiencing a sharp pain right next to my spine, under my right shoulder. After I practice for a little while, the pain gets triggered and it remains the same for days even if I stop practicing. I should point out that I work at a computer for 8 hours per day and also play electric guitar, but the sharp pain in my shoulder gets triggered only when I practice on the classical guitar (even for short periods of time). I can't seem to figure this out and it's driving me crazy, sucking all the fun out of playing guitar. I'm even wondering if it's the size of my guitar the problem. I have a Ramirez R1 and although it has a 650 mm scale, it "feels" a little smaller compared to guitars with the same scale. I'm wondering if the body is smaller and that might cause some tension in my right shoulder that triggers the pain.
Anyway, this is probably a very specific issue and I'm gonna see a physical therapist after the break, but I'd like to know your opinions as well.
Thanks!

George Crocket