Left Hand vs Right forearm

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
yossarian83

Left Hand vs Right forearm

Post by yossarian83 » Tue Dec 02, 2014 10:15 am

Hi Everyone,
Forum and classical guitar newbie here :oops:

I was hoping someone could clarify an issue I've recently become aware of...

On the "Pumping Nylon" dvd, Scott Tenant recommends to use the weight of gravity on the left arm to assist in pushing the strings down with the left hand, with very little "squeeze" from the thumb. The point, I think, is to spare the small muscles of the hand and forearm from over-exertion and develop a light touch.

He also recommends to treat the right arm as "tonearm" from a record player, meaning one shouldn't alter the angle of the wrist when moving from the 1st to 6th strings with a free-stroke. Which requires resting the right forearm very lightly across the guitar.

This advice leads to contradicting guitar balance issues. If I rest my right forearm lightly so that I can keep my wrist at a constant angle and "move my tonearm" then I can't possibly use the weight of gravity on my left arm to press down the string because the guitar has to be supported by my left thumb.
Likewise, if I simply relax my left hand and use the weight of gravity (very little if any thumb pressure on the back of the neck) I can't keep the lower bout of the guitar from pulling outward against my right forearm.

I hope this makes sense, any advice?

tormodg

Re: Left Hand vs Right forearm

Post by tormodg » Tue Dec 02, 2014 2:30 pm

You do not want to support the guitar with your left thumb - or even left hand - at all. Make sure the guitar rests on your left leg and stops against your right leg (assuming you're not playing LH of course). The guitar also rests against your chest, at an angle so you can see the top of the fretboard without craning your neck.