Sad about the state of Delcamp

Topics archived from Public Space and its subforums after a long period of inactivity, or redundant for some other reason. This section is read-only.
Forum rules
Topics archived from Public Space and its subforums after a long period of inactivity, or redundant for some other reason. This section is read-only.
charles.patrick

Post by charles.patrick » Wed Jan 08, 2014 11:12 pm

I've been visiting this forum off and on for a few years.

Originally I was blown away by the generosity. Somebody has put all this teaching material online for people who might not have access to a teacher. And furthermore, other people are spending their own free time to join in and record examples.... showing beginners how it should be done..... answering questions.

It's an absolute testament to the community.

But the last few weeks.... all I'm seeing is people asking for TABS, or people saying they want to use classical guitar to play arrangements of modern pop songs because the standard repertoire is "old" apparently... people asking if it's ok to interpret things however they want to make it easier to play.... people posting links to youtube videos that they consider "amazing" - but actually it's some horrendous teenage rendition of a nirvana song played on a nylon string guitar. It's utterly embarrassing quite frankly.

And the worst thing of all. The responses these people are getting in the forums are encouraging them and it seems the respondents are people who have no idea about music themselves!

I think I've used this phrase on another of my posts but I cannot remember where at the moment... but the phrase "the blind leading the blind" springs to mind.