for people who know about ABRSM grades

Discussions relating to the classical guitar which don't fit elsewhere.
delayedMusician

for people who know about ABRSM grades

Post by delayedMusician » Tue Oct 28, 2014 11:15 am

is it acceptable to think of the Delcamp books 1-9 as the corresponding grades for ABRSM or similar grades? I don't know much about the Delcamp books yet, I have a couple of old editions that I downloaded somewhere.

Yeah I know: it's not realistic to think of grades, etc.....heard it all before. I don't see ABRSM grades as a salvation to anything or the only way to define goals etc, just as ONE valid ways amongst others. Also, I am an advanced musician, although it's only been a few months that I started out on classical guitar and I have been progressing quickly (to my own surprise).
I am just mentioning all this to avoid wasting our time with too basic advice like 'nah, ABRSM isn't this or that'. The grades is what they are.....a way to build a basic but solid complement to your other musical activities. My point is just whether it's ok to see the Delcamp books as progressive from complete beginner to pretty much complete pro, in a gradual way. Am I correct?

pogmoor

Re: for people who know about ABRSM grades

Post by pogmoor » Tue Oct 28, 2014 12:11 pm

delayedMusician wrote:is it acceptable to think of the Delcamp books 1-9 as the corresponding grades for ABRSM or similar grades? I don't know much about the Delcamp books yet, I have a couple of old editions that I downloaded somewhere.