Why do you compose?

Theory and practice of composition and arranging for classical guitar, discussion of works in progress, etc.
Forum rules
III Our MP3, WMV, MOV, OGG, AVI, Authors' rights

Composers' Workshop
Theory and practice of composition and arranging for classical guitar, discussion of works in progress, etc.

Once you have subscribed to the 002 group, you can attach the following types of files to your messages:
Audio : .mp3 .ogg .wav .flac
Video : .avi .flv .mov .wmv
Score : .pdf .jpg .gif .png
Finale: .mus
phenix

Why do you compose?

Post by phenix » Thu May 20, 2010 4:55 pm

I'm a beginner to the CG, but still I feel a deep need to compose. Of course, up to now, there are just some spare themes. But my need to compose, I think, it comes from the fact I have a bad memory, making me very slow in learning new pieces for interpretation. As a beginner I am also slow in reading the scores, so I cannot rely on them, but the worst is to memorize what I've already read and played. It is so much easy for me, and pleasing too, to think and play and even write new themes (I cannot call them melodies yet). And in this case, my memory works a little bit better. In conclusion, I like to compose because of my memory, being to bad for interpretation. What about you?

fazley

Re: Why do you compose?

Post by fazley » Thu May 20, 2010 10:17 pm

I don't really compose, but would like to. The main reason is because it is so difficult to play pieces that are part of the CG repertoire, well.

Vito Simplicio
Composer

Post by Vito Simplicio » Fri May 21, 2010 11:51 am

Hard to explain. I just love the creative process more than working on an existing piece endlessly until I feel that I've gotten it right. It just happens for me and interestingly enough I started composing in my middle 50's.
( vitO )===:::

Oberg (2008)
Takamine C136S (1977)

Classical Guitar Forum

programator

Post by programator » Fri May 21, 2010 6:04 pm