Composition in progress

Theory and practice of composition and arranging for classical guitar, discussion of works in progress, etc.
Forum rules
III Our MP3, WMV, MOV, OGG, AVI, Authors' rights

Composers' Workshop
Theory and practice of composition and arranging for classical guitar, discussion of works in progress, etc.

Once you have subscribed to the 002 group, you can attach the following types of files to your messages:
Audio : .mp3 .ogg .wav .flac
Video : .avi .flv .mov .wmv
Score : .pdf .jpg .gif .png
Finale: .mus
Marty219

Composition in progress

Post by Marty219 » Sat Jan 19, 2013 12:40 am

Hello,

I'm working on a baroque-ish piece inspired mostly by Bourrée in E minor (BWV 996) and Gavotte en Rondeau (BWV 995). I just wondering what you think of it and if you have any advice.
Also I'm aware that it's simple (maybe too simple?) but I'm pretty new at this. I exported the sound file from Guitar Pro 6 because I haven't got any good recording equipment...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Frank Nordberg

Re: Composition in progress

Post by Frank Nordberg » Sat Jan 19, 2013 12:33 pm

Marty219 wrote:I'm working on a baroque-ish piece inspired mostly by Bourrée in E minor (BWV 996) and Gavotte en Rondeau (BWV 995). I just wondering what you think of it and if you have any advice.
I can't really hear any Bach or baroque in it (I'd describe it more as folk music or possibly renaissance inspired) but that doesn't matter. What's important is that it's a nice and catchy tune and rhythm. You really should keep working on it! You may want to tweak the part just before that big ending chord a little bit and of course, it needs at least one more section to be a fnished work.
Marty219 wrote:Also I'm aware that it's simple (maybe too simple?)
There's nothing wrong with that.

Marty219

Post by Marty219 » Sat Jan 19, 2013 2:02 pm

Thanks! Great to hear that you like it.