Composing Inventions

Theory and practice of composition and arranging for classical guitar, discussion of works in progress, etc.
Forum rules
III Our MP3, WMV, MOV, OGG, AVI, Authors' rights

Composers' Workshop
Theory and practice of composition and arranging for classical guitar, discussion of works in progress, etc.

Once you have subscribed to the 002 group, you can attach the following types of files to your messages:
Audio : .mp3 .ogg .wav .flac
Video : .avi .flv .mov .wmv
Score : .pdf .jpg .gif .png
Finale: .mus
Rich

Composing Inventions

Post by Rich » Sun Aug 11, 2013 4:37 pm

I am working through a series of books on form by Percy Goetschius. They are old but very detailed and methodical which appeals to me. I am now studying his treatment of polyphonic forms and am attempting to compose some Inventions. I have found some analysis of Bach inventions online and that has been instructive. But I am finding this very challenging and I am wondering if anyone has experience with this that they might wish to share.

Max Karios

Re: Composing Inventions

Post by Max Karios » Mon Aug 12, 2013 4:59 am

I would just copy the form of any Bach invention: pick one of them and analyse how long theme is, on which note with respect to the root it starts, what pitch range it spans, how it is handled after its first occurence, imitated in the 2nd voice, transposed, shortened, extended, maybe inverted, and what the chord progession looks like -- this includes modulations. Then find a theme yourself and try to do everthing exactly as in the original: same chord progression and the same treatment of the theme. If it turns out that your theme does not allow for exactly the same treatment, find out why, i.e. look at the intervals of the original theme and compare it to you own one. That is how I would approach it.