How to evaluate a new spruce top?

joachim33

How to evaluate a new spruce top?

Post by joachim33 » Sun Jul 01, 2018 8:18 am

On Tuesday I hope to try a new spruce top guitar in comparison to a similarly build cedar top. I have no experience with spruce and do not know which kind of tops I prefer. I currently happen to have a cedar top, since that’s what the shop had when I bought.

I read that spruce will significantly change (open up) over several month of playing when new. So how does one evaluate a spruce and make up his mind on the spruce vs cedar when the spruce guitar hasn’t opened up? Is it that one always buys something unknown when getting a spruce top?

Thanks.

Mr.Rain

Re: How to evaluate a new spruce top?

Post by Mr.Rain » Sun Jul 01, 2018 8:59 am

It is a gamble, but you can see potential where others see a slightly harsh instrument (too much trebles, or a tight top).

Volume is expected to grow (depends on the builder but it should at least for proper spanish construction guitar), trebles are supposed to become rounder, basses are supposed to become more present... etc

I bought several spruce tops from the same workshop, and at the end they ended up sounding "similar" (construction method and uniformity prevailed in this case, all the normal sized guitars from this workshop had the same top resonance,and construction style).

Again even the same builder said sometimes you end up with a "lemon" (you never know till it time passes,but he can predict how his
guitars will evolve), so if the guitars sound already open from the beginning that can be an advantage (it happens sometimes), the issue there is that it may become loose and undefined with the use...

My 2 cents,try some used guitar of the same builder in spruce (so you can compare it with the new one), and then based on that decide... (cedar vs a new spruce may cause you a big disappointment)...

Philosopherguy

Post by Philosopherguy » Sun Jul 01, 2018 2:42 pm