Guitar value and value perception

Mollbarre

Guitar value and value perception

Post by Mollbarre » Sun Jan 13, 2019 5:55 pm

I'm still very new to guitars, so please bear with me!

I'm just trying to feel my way through the CG forest. :D

Regarding the pricing of new instruments:

A "cheap" guitar, IMO, is $300 and under.

An "intermediate" guitar is $300-700.

An advanced student? guitar is $700-3000.

After that you get into higher end factory guitars and starter luthier guitars.

Yet - I've had people say a $700 guitar is really expensive. I suppose it all comes down to perspective?

Now - I've looked at at couple of $4,000-6,000 factory guitars (Gibsons - not classical however). So why would you buy one of those over a luthier instrument? Just because of branding - or do they have something else going for them?
2016 Fender CN320AS
2018 Cordoba C10 crossover
2018 Ibanez GA5TCE
...and miscellaneous bits and pieces.

ChristianSchwengeler
Luthier

Re: Guitar value and value perception

Post by ChristianSchwengeler » Sun Jan 13, 2019 7:48 pm

If you are new to CG and want somthing which is good for the money the best is to buy a nice used instrument. You can find nice new instruments also in the intermediate section as long as you know what to pay atention to, and depending where you are. To buy an advanced instrument is only worth it if you are advanced enough to define your criterias.

Julian Ward

Post by Julian Ward » Sun Jan 13, 2019 7:56 pm

Luthiers in the UK start from £2000. In fact Robin Greenwood was only charging £1500 a few years ago.
Some factory guitars are excellent. Some luthier guitars are not good! Just because a luthier made it, it absolutely does not guarantee it is going to sound great. But of course, some are fantastic.... Some factory guitars are also poor...
Some great knowledge on the forum here from people that know a lot of 'reliable' factory guitars - and good luthiers.