Manuel Velázquez?

Geewhizpat

Manuel Velázquez?

Post by Geewhizpat » Sun May 19, 2019 5:01 pm

I have been a musician for 35 years. As a result, my family recently gave me a classical guitar from a 90 year old relative. In an effort to establish a provenance on said guitar I can tell you the following. My relative was a booking agent for People’s Songs in New York (Pete Seeger, Harry Belafonte) in the second half of the 1940’s. He purchased this classical guitar at a pawn shop in New York City somewhere between 1945-1949. The pawnbroker told him that the guitar had a pick guard at one time added for a big band performer who used silk and steel lower strings and gut uppers. So I can establish the guitar was made is the 1940’s.
There is a gold label with a music lyre symbol at the top.
On it printed in script in black:
Manuel Velazquez
Fabricante de Guitarras
Calidad Superior
New York City, N.Y.
There are no model references, dates or signatures.
I have ordered an inspection mirror to look for marks or signatures on the inside.

I am not sure if this guitar was an early Velazquez from his shop/dining table in the early 40’s. It could simply be a counterfeit by an apprentice in his shop...but although not as fine as Manuel’s masterpieces of the early 50’s...it has a beautiful voice/tone, clearly hand built well and light as a feather.
I have been dialoguing with Beverly Maher of the guitar salon to help establish a provenance on the guitar. She is on board with many hints. I have also contacted Alfredo Velazquez and Velazquez guitars and have not heard back yet.
I am trying to get as much info established before I have it appraised and do repairs indicated from age to this possibly 70 year old instrument.

Below I have attached some rough pics of the guitar for the general idea. Of course, if requested I would take finer more precise views. It has been suggested it could have been built by an apprentice luthier in the shop like Titi Amadeo...I am not sure.