Guitar options around 500$?

Classique

Guitar options around 500$?

Post by Classique » Sun Jun 23, 2019 8:25 am

I have a couple of questions, since I am fairly new to classical guitar as a whole I will preface this with I used to own a Cordoba C7, and while it sounded great for the price I didn't love the guitar. I have recently gone out and played different models of guitars, and the ones I have enjoyed the most were the La Patrie Etude and the Alhambra 10 P. Both are listed at 399 retail, and I thoroughly enjoyed them so much more than any Cordoba or Yamaha in the price range, as well as the one Kremona. I felt like they were better built guitars (the La Patrie overbuilt which felt incredible) and I enjoyed the sound more too. I do love the fact that the Alhambra is made in Spain and La Patrie is made in Canada. I do know that Indonesian quality has drastically improved over the years but I would love to support a company that keeps their guitars in their country of origin.

I think I have decided between these two guitars, but I am open to other suggestions. I do have some questions, with the Etude, there is a Q1T pick up option on it, and I know using a microphone is superior to the pick up, how much of the sound is impacted by the pick up? Is it worth the price difference between the standard model and the Q1 (399 vs 540+)?

Any other suggestions? Is there one you would prefer over the other? I am thinking it's a toss up. Any help or input would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you :)
“Nothing is more beautiful than a guitar, save perhaps two.”

-Fredric Chopin

simonm

Re: Guitar options around 500$?

Post by simonm » Sun Jun 23, 2019 8:50 am