Guitar recommendations for a beginner

Hannah Kim

Guitar recommendations for a beginner

Post by Hannah Kim » Tue Jan 11, 2011 8:52 am

Hi, everyone,

I am thinking of getting a new CG for a beginner around $300~700 and would like some advice.

I know that professional luthiers' pricings are well over $1000 or even $10000, but I don't think I am ready for those beauties yet... :D
...as I am scared that I might "destroy" the instrument out of the clumsiness of a beginner. :|

Right now, I have the Yamaha CG101A classical that someone gave me.
Just wondering if I should stick around with the one I have or should purchase a new, better one. (if it could be any better around my price range, that is) :D

For many of you who are excellent guitar players with excellent guitars, please don't be annoyed by my silly question as I am a beginner (like I've said before). :)

If you have had any good experiences or recommendations with CG's around the price range above, letting me know would help me tremendously!

Thank you so much, :guitare:

Hannah Kim

djajasoekarta

Re: Guitar recommendations for a beginner

Post by djajasoekarta » Tue Jan 11, 2011 9:44 am

I reccomend a Japanese fabricated classical guitar such as kodaira or Matsuoka. Their student range are at your cost. By their experience, the guitar should work well. I have a 1990's kodaira & it sounds great :D

Or if you have a time & link, the luthier in South east Asia would be your best choice. They offer Solid Body guitar under $700 too

My Pleasure
'The woolen cloth of his suit made me question the value of Chinese silks. His fountain pen made me ashamed of my writing brushes and Chinese writing paper' - Puyi

'I don't write music to be difficult, only to be more like itself' - Harrison Birtwistle

Ramon Amira
Teacher

Post by Ramon Amira » Tue Jan 11, 2011 2:35 pm