Im sorry but im looking for a guitar.

classykid817

Im sorry but im looking for a guitar.

Post by classykid817 » Wed Jan 26, 2011 2:34 pm

Hey everyone,

I am a Guitar Student at Florida State looking for a new guitar.

I have been doing countless hours of research and web surfing to find a new guitar. Although I do not currently have all of the money for it (saving my nickels and dimes) i am looking at no more then 6k i might be able to push it a bit more.

Basically the problem is that I really like the Features Stephan Connor guitars offer and all of the features they offer (Raised reck, radiused fingerboard, oval soundhole) however their price is very high for just indian rosewood and I would rather have the back and sides made of a bit better wood. For Madagascar (from connor guitars) it would cost about 4k more then the price i would like to spend. I would still like to shop around to see if I could find another builder who offers these features.

Mods: If i placed this in the wrong thread i'm sorry

Thanks to everyone,
Kenny

Marcus Dominelli
Luthier

Re: Im sorry but im looking for a guitar.

Post by Marcus Dominelli » Wed Jan 26, 2011 3:15 pm

Hi Kenny,
I build in your price range, with the features you mentioned. I might be able to hook you up with a Phd student I sold a guitar to in Florida last year if you want to see an example of my work. Or check out my web-site: www.dominelliguitars.com

Cheers,
-Marcus

James Lister
Luthier

Post by James Lister » Wed Jan 26, 2011 5:42 pm

classykid817 wrote:... however their price is very high for just indian rosewood and I would rather have the back and sides made of a bit better wood.
Indian rosewood is a great tonewood - great tone and very stable.

James

P.S. Marcus makes great guitars!
James Lister, luthier, Sheffield UK

classykid817

Post by classykid817 » Wed Jan 26, 2011 6:41 pm