Luthiers Available in New York area?

Construction and repair of Classical Guitar and related instruments
flydav

Luthiers Available in New York area?

Post by flydav » Mon Oct 23, 2006 8:34 pm

I have no experience with luthiers here in New York and found nothing in the web, I just have bought a Ramirez with a couple of line cracks so where would you suggest me to turn to?
Somebody who I can really trust... :wink:

I would like not to ship the instrument and to talk to the luthier face to face.

arons

Post by arons » Mon Oct 23, 2006 8:55 pm

Go see Tony at Luthier Music Corp. in Manhattan, on 44th Street between 8th and 9th Aves. Tony has a stellar reputation and his store is a trusted source for CG'ers across New York City. He has served Jorge Morel, Paco de Lucia, and many other great guitarists over the last few decades. They have a website at http://www.luthiermusic.com .

Best,
Aron

flydav

Post by flydav » Tue Oct 24, 2006 7:22 am

Aron

Actually I thought about Luthier because I bought my first Ramirez there, but since their prices about guitars are very high in comparison to same models and years found elsewhere I thought that would not be a nice idea to ask for their service.
Unless their luthier makes his own prices and is not related to the Store's management if you know what I mean.

nyccg

Post by nyccg » Tue Oct 24, 2006 11:42 am

A regular poster at the GSI forum recommended this guy in NYC. This is what he wrote:
"Here's a luthier in New York City. He's done several repairs for me.
Honest, fast, reliable, reasonable, and very very good.
What more do you need?
Matthew Rubendall
917 575 0268"

arons

Post by arons » Tue Oct 24, 2006 1:48 pm

flydav wrote:Actually I thought about Luthier because I bought my first Ramirez there, but since their prices about guitars are very high in comparison to same models and years found elsewhere I thought that would not be a nice idea to ask for their service.