Thickness planing sides prior to bending

Construction and repair of Classical Guitar and related instruments
geo-co

Thickness planing sides prior to bending

Post by geo-co » Fri Oct 27, 2006 9:13 pm

Hello - I'm new to luthier'ing (sp?) and I have a question as to why all the books I have looked at and the video that came with my LMI kit recommend the "safety plane". for thicknessing the sides prior to bending. My question to the group is would a reasonably tuned Delta 12" surface planer and some final scraping do the trick assuming I don't try to take off to much with each pass? BTW, I have Indian Rosewood sides and back.

Thanks,
Geo.

Pepe Vergara

Post by Pepe Vergara » Fri Oct 27, 2006 11:29 pm

What about the regular planer? the hand planer?

geo-co

Post by geo-co » Sat Oct 28, 2006 4:42 am

pepe wrote:What about the regular planer? the hand planer?
I did that with the neck and head, it was fun but I'm a bit concerned that the tollerance for sides are more exacting. My consistency across the larger surface area is not as good as I wish it could be... Maybe just take it down with a thickness planer to within a mm and then plane it the rest of the way.

Thanks for your input!

MarkJ

Post by MarkJ » Sun Oct 29, 2006 5:19 pm

I would not use a power planer for the sides, top or back. I have used hand planes, like a #4 Stanley, and a scraper, but it is hard work and unforgiving if you take off too much. I now use a thickness sander and I am convined that it is the best way to get the thickness to within 0.2 mm or so of where you want it. I finish with a few strokes of a well burnished scraper.