Cracked bridge on a Terada

Construction and repair of Classical Guitar and related instruments
Victoria Ferrell
Amateur luthier

Cracked bridge on a Terada

Post by Victoria Ferrell » Wed May 09, 2018 1:50 am

Several months ago, I purchased a Terada from an individual on an internet site. For the most part, the entirety of the guitar is in excellent condition. The I noticed the bridge was cracked and the nut missing. I took it to the place where I get lessons. I told them it looked like someone had already glued the bridge. They were sure glue could fix it. The repair person confirmed that it had already been glued. It needs to be completely replaced and they recommended another business for this.

I have some experience with woodwork and a number of other crafts. Frankly, I believe I can repair it myself.

How do I remove the cracked bridge? What type of glue do I use to replace it?

Thank in advance to anyone who offers their experience in response to this query.

I told my oldest, to whom I hoped to give this guitar, that I was taking this issue to the only people with whom I could trust the problem...all of you.
I don't want to play like other guitarists; I want to give voice to the song of my own soul.

Laudiesdad69

Re: Cracked bridge on a Terada

Post by Laudiesdad69 » Wed May 09, 2018 4:13 am

If it were me, I would let a pro handle it. If you try and pry the bridge off cold, and even if you use heat, when the bridge comes off it can take chunks of the top with it when it is removed. Also, you don’t know what kind of glue was used when the previous owner glued it. If it was superglue, it may be more difficult than with a Hyde glue. Plus there is the matter of being able to clamp it when installing the new bridge. The nut would be easy enough, as long as you have the proper tools. Still, don’t expect a perfect nut if it is your first time making one. Hope this helps.

If you still want to try, checkout YouTube. See if Dan Erlewine has some videos of these.