What tools do you find most useful, and what are useless?

Construction and repair of Classical Guitar and related instruments
mlau

What tools do you find most useful, and what are useless?

Post by mlau » Wed May 16, 2018 8:51 pm

A while back, I visited Stephen Faulk's shop in Oakland.
I was struck by how few tools he used (to make top shelf flamenco guitars).
I visited Brad Heinzen's shop in SF and was struck by how few tools he uses (I think one handmade plane and a small router plane).

What tools do you guys use most, and what do you think are somewhat silly?

I'm just a very much amateur and am even thinking of stopping building...however, I'd like any excuse to not stop building guitars.

-Matt

ps. In terms of not very useful tools-- LMI plate gluing jig, infill plane (so heavy!), specialized stewmac "thin" cam clamps.
Stuff I used a lot more-- sharp chisel, card scrapers, cam clamps, block plane...digital micrometer.

Stephen Faulk

Re: What tools do you find most useful, and what are useless?

Post by Stephen Faulk » Thu May 17, 2018 2:37 am

Matt, I guess I never showed you the tool room down the hall from my shop. We shared the rent for the room between several occupants of my building. I had a 14" band saw with a resawing riser block a drum sander and a table saw.

The drum sander was nothing but trouble, a real POS, but I think a band saw and table saw are very helpful.

I had Gene Clark for a teacher and his philosophy was reductive:; move any non essential tools off the bench. Non essential is personal. We talked a lot about what tools a maker living 1550 or 1650 would have, and his idea was that he wanted to use that kind of speculation to clear off tools and to make small hand forged tools like special scrapers for clearing saddle slots etc.

We looked at a guitar supply catalog one day and I said it reminds me of what my grandfather said about fishing lures, most lures are made to catch fishermen, not fish.