Travel classical/ nylon string guitar

Construction and repair of Classical Guitar and related instruments
Marquezdl

Travel classical/ nylon string guitar

Post by Marquezdl » Wed Dec 26, 2018 8:57 pm

I am looking for a suitable travel guitar. I am a fairly mediocre classical guitarist, but pushing 70 I get a great deal of pleasure out of butchering Bach, Barrios, and Brouwer. What I am looking for is something that is appreciably smaller and more durable than my Robert Webster or my replica of an 1816 Martinez. The Martinez is approximately the right size, but I doubt its ability to stand up to hard travel, and the roughly 45 mm nut width really bothers me a bit.
I have looked arround, and the 2 guitars that keep popping up seem to be the Blackbird rider nylon string (carbon fiber) and the Romero parlor guitar.
The Romero is more the size I would like, but I am pretty sure that the Blackbird would definitely be the most durable and travel worthy although a bit larger than I would like. I need a guitar I can strap on my touring bicycle for multiweek bicycle tours, and take with me to South America in the winter. Any thoughts, ideas, suggestions, observations?
My one idea about the Romero would be to buy a goretex waterproof cover if anyone makes such a thing.
I have no objection to carbon fiber, so its really about tone-size-durability-playability-travelworthiness
Thanks in advance
Last edited by Marquezdl on Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

printer2

Re: Travel classical/ nylon string gutar

Post by printer2 » Fri Dec 28, 2018 4:09 am

What is the lower bout width of the 1816 Martinez? I mostly gave away a similar sized guitar this Christmas and kind of miss it.
Fred

Dofpic

Post by Dofpic » Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:15 am

I would look at either the Soloette or the Yamaha travel guitar.