Advice on neck finish

Construction and repair of Classical Guitar and related instruments
Brandon Walker

Advice on neck finish

Post by Brandon Walker » Sun Mar 03, 2019 5:10 pm

Hi everyone,

I have a guitar with a thinly lacquered finish. I would like to change the finish on the playing area of the neck to rubbed oil—only the playing area, much like a cello neck (not sure exactly how those tend to be finished but looks and feels like what I have in mind.).

How might I go about it? Are there dangers when sanding away the lacquer, for example? I have zero experience of this.

Thanks for any advice. :)

GerryM

Re: Advice on neck finish

Post by GerryM » Sun Mar 03, 2019 7:49 pm

This is very common in the banjo world. The call it a "Speed Neck" although the real reason is preventing the hand from sticking to the lacquer finish in hot humid conditions.

In fact I have one banjo where I had a luthier do this as I watched. He removed the finish with a scraper and thinned the neck, finishing up with sandpaper for the final smoothing. The applied finish was several coats of Tru-Oil. It certainly is easier to play in hot, humid conditions but it doesn't look particularly good.

Expect a significant decrease in value of the instrument if you do this. Classical guitarists don't need nearly as much speed as banjo players do so I would never do this to a valuable instrument. Or even a mediocre one.

I should add that a much less invasive solution is to dull the back of the neck with something like rottenstone or a microfiber sanding pad of around 1000-2000 grit, If done carefully you could always polish it back up if desired.

MessyTendon
Amateur luthier

Post by MessyTendon » Mon Mar 04, 2019 12:31 am

How thick is the lacquer? If it is quite thick you can start buy scraping it with a razor blade, peel large flakes off and then sand and repeat, Take your time it should be fine. Use a mask and make sure all the dust is contained. Lacquer is nasty stuff.