How do I get started recording into my computer?

Topics archived from Public Space and its subforums after a long period of inactivity, or redundant for some other reason. This section is read-only.
Forum rules
Topics archived from Public Space and its subforums after a long period of inactivity, or redundant for some other reason. This section is read-only.
Bartacus

How do I get started recording into my computer?

Post by Bartacus » Thu May 05, 2005 5:10 pm

I've been playing classical guitar for 8 months, and I'd like to record the compositions I've learned so far on my laptop (Windows Millenium system).
Can someone advise as to how I should proceed? I saw some posts about preamps and microphones, and a friend said I can get free downloadable software. But I'm a novice at all of this.

Thank you!

Bart (an ambitious beginner)

BobM

Post by BobM » Fri May 06, 2005 1:27 am

Hi Bart,

Welcome. Here is what I use in addition to my SoundCard built in my Mother board. (generic) (about the same that you may have already in your laptop):

Mixer Behringer UB1002
Mic Behringer B-1
Software freeware Audacity(?)

In addition to that you will need the microphone cable and the cable from the mixer to the sound card. There are different solutions but I use a stereo cable with an adapter 1/4" to 1/8" for the computer side. I plug the mixer into the "Line in" of the sound card.

The rest is just mic placement which you will have to experiment with due to the difference in rooms acoustics and instruments.

Happy guitar!

Bob

fabio

Post by fabio » Sat Jul 16, 2005 3:07 am

I'd recommend you get at least a decent mic -- common computer desktop and webcam mics are NOT an option! they just plain suck for this purpose, unless your soundcard has some kind of mic booster. Mine has it, so it doesn't suck 100% when I record, but I still have to play pretty close to it - that makes room ambience and acoustics go down the hill.
As BobM said, a good mixer or preamp would help a lot.