guitar producing a strange sound

Topics archived from Public Space and its subforums after a long period of inactivity, or redundant for some other reason. This section is read-only.
Forum rules
Topics archived from Public Space and its subforums after a long period of inactivity, or redundant for some other reason. This section is read-only.
sami007

guitar producing a strange sound

Post by sami007 » Sun Aug 07, 2005 9:51 pm

my guitar suddenly started to produce a stange sound. when i pluck the 1st or 2nd string only, the 5th and 6th string will also vibrate making a teribble sound.
the sound is a little like a humming sound more similar to the sound of a sheet of metal being hit.
its like the 5th and six string are resonating at their natural frequency.
i am new to the guitar and would much appreciate it if anyone knows whats going on.

Michael

Post by Michael » Mon Aug 08, 2005 6:46 am

I wonder if one of the bracings inside the body has come slighty unstuck?

sami007

Post by sami007 » Mon Aug 08, 2005 11:03 am

what are the bracings?

billb

Post by billb » Mon Aug 08, 2005 11:38 am

I'll think about it. It could just be a ghost note.

anathem

Post by anathem » Mon Aug 08, 2005 12:53 pm

i got a similar problem when the strings were too close to the neck of the guitar because i had not ajusted them properly and they vibrated onto the metal which separates the frets (i dont remember the english word for it hehe ) check it out

sami007

Post by sami007 » Tue Aug 09, 2005 12:10 am

the strings are not nutching the frets. i took the strings off and put the back in exactly the correct way but no difference. i think that when i pluck the string the body of the guitar is virbrating at a particular frequency that induces the 5th and 6th string to vibrate.

Anonymous

Buzz

Post by Anonymous » Tue Aug 09, 2005 2:52 am