Metronome

Topics archived from Public Space and its subforums after a long period of inactivity, or redundant for some other reason. This section is read-only.
Forum rules
Topics archived from Public Space and its subforums after a long period of inactivity, or redundant for some other reason. This section is read-only.
Colm

Metronome

Post by Colm » Sun Aug 28, 2005 10:50 pm

Hi Folks,

I've not long started trying to tighten my timing by playing with a metronome, I have an app for my palm pilot and I also use this online metronome.

Is there any advantage in having a "proper" metronome?

As I'm a computer programmer, I'm just about to start writing a metronome that will allow me to program songs I'm working on, perhaps increasing the timing automatically between each play of the piece. I'll write it for the Sharp Zaurus, but this will mean that it should compile on any platform.

Can anyone think of any other features that they would have in their dream metronome? Plus any general advice on playing to the metronome would be appreciated.

Thanks

--
Colm

ky-jelly

Post by ky-jelly » Sun Aug 28, 2005 11:21 pm

hhhm i think a little voice that says "well done!" when you're finished would be nice :P but other than that i can't really think of much else you can do with a metronome, maybe different sounds?

ooh just thought of one, maybe a sort of hand clapping sound which would be ideal for practicing flamenco...

bwest123

Post by bwest123 » Sun Aug 28, 2005 11:35 pm

Sounds like a good Idea. I recently started lessons & the first thing my instructor had me do was buy a tuner/metranome. If I could have used my PDA, it would have saved me $30+. I carry my PDA everywhere, so it would have been great to use it instead.

Azalais

Post by Azalais » Mon Aug 29, 2005 1:40 am