a little Copyright 101

Topics archived from Public Space and its subforums after a long period of inactivity, or redundant for some other reason. This section is read-only.
Forum rules
Topics archived from Public Space and its subforums after a long period of inactivity, or redundant for some other reason. This section is read-only.
LittleMrJ

a little Copyright 101

Post by LittleMrJ » Sat Oct 30, 2004 3:28 am

I answered a question in the users area, and thought it might help someone in the public area:

I'm not an expert on international copyright law, but here is a couple of basics for U.S. law.

The copyright of music is valid for the life of the artist + 50 years. So any music by a composer who has been dead for over 50 years is public domain, anyone can use it any way they want, and it's only courtesy or respect to mention who wrote the original music. You don’t have to give credit to anyone if you don’t want to. But, of course, you can never take credit of a public work for yourself either (public domain means it belongs to ALL of us)!

“Does that mean that in just 15 years I can use Jimi Hendrix music in my commercials and on my CD's without getting permission?”…

No. In some cases he recorded his version of songs by other blues artist's (from which he obtained permission), otherwise you still have to wait for the rest of the band to die (co-authors), then just wait only 50 more tiny years after that, then the music is completely ours.

However, the "recorded" music (on audio, video, paper, etc.) has a copyright too. Although Bach's Chaconne is public domain, Segovia's transcription of it is copyrighted by Segovia, and any recorded performance is copyrighted by the individuals or symphonys which performed it. So although many of the underlying compositions here may be "free" to use, the transcriptions are technically not.

“How do I copyright my compositions?”