Hello my fellow guitarists!

CarlosSanJuanito96

Hello my fellow guitarists!

Post by CarlosSanJuanito96 » Wed Oct 17, 2018 11:15 pm

Greetings and salutations to everyone here, I'm glad I could make it.

My name is Carlos Ordonez, I'm 21, living in Toronto and I'm currently a music student in my tentative final year of university. My cultural roots are planted in South America, Ecuador, which has been a large part of my musical development and appreciation; when I was a child, my father would play beautiful Ecuadorian folk music and I would move to the beautiful melodies and rhythms. But now onto the real meat of the introduction: my journey with the Guitar.

My "unofficial" musical journey began when I was a child and my grandmother and father would play guitar. I'm told I would sit, entranced, and listen to everything they played.

My "official" musical life began in Grade 10 (that seems ages ago!), when I enrolled in a music class. The class was not specialized in guitar or even in strings but was a "big band" sort of class. Violinists, brass players, pianists, even a timpanist and a double bassist all demanded the attention of one music teacher, a man who I am forever indebted to. In addition, there was something like 12 guitarists in the class so even more of the teacher's attention was diverted elsewhere. My school had access only to steel-string acoustic guitars so my beginnings of a guitarists took place strumming chords, and trying to get through Stairway to Heaven, Dream On, Dust in the Wind and all of the "mandatory" guitar showpieces. The lack of individual attention from the teacher led to me becoming my own teacher.