Greetings from Wilmington, DE

Danno3

Greetings from Wilmington, DE

Post by Danno3 » Sat Oct 20, 2018 12:36 am

I am relatively new to classical guitar. In fact, I am relatively new to guitars in general, although I have been a musician most of my life.

I was inspired to take up classical guitar after watching Coco last December. Although the music is not mostly classical per se, I loved the sound of the guitar and the harmonies and rhythms of the music.

I first learned to play piano starting at age 8 and taking lessons through high school. I also played trombone in the high school band. I should mention that all of my three siblings also learned piano and played in the high school band. My two brothers also played trombone.

After high school, I had no access to a piano for a long time other than when I visited my parents. When we moved to Wilmington in 1985, we joined a church with a handbell choir. I joined the handbell choir and learned to do solo ringing.

So how did I take up guitar? My youngest brother became a professional pianist with amazing talent. He can play anything by ear, but in addition he is an amazing arranger. I have a video of a Christmas medley in which at least 8 different songs appear, at least momentarily, all woven together like a magic carpet. The point of this is that when I was at my parents’ house, usually with all my siblings and their families, none of us wanted to play the piano because my brother was so good. I decided I would learn to play an instrument no one else played so that I couldn’t be compared to any of my siblings.

I started taking lessons about 10 years ago, and I was mostly focused on bluegrass guitar. I still play some bluegrass regularly. My teacher suggested working on classical guitar to improve my technique, especially my left hand.