Hello from St Louis MO

drainky

Hello from St Louis MO

Post by drainky » Sat Oct 27, 2018 4:48 pm

Flash! Long time classical guitar owner begins practicing seriously! I have played at guitar for about 50 years. While a dedicated amateur player I have found the added benefit of the guitar being a welcome and inexpensive therapist. I have taken lessons for maybe a total of 4 years yet I taught myself music, after having it in grade school, so I figured out I would take formal classical guitar lessons infrequently and then mostly work on my own; hoping that practice would see me through. I started practicing guitar when I was 16 years old and throughout my mid 20's until my late 40's I didn't let a year pass by without picking up my at least one time. :D In my early 50's I took lessons from a good teacher for a few years and that has been the inspiration for a slow return to the more frequent practice I'm devoting and the pleasure I'm receiving from the instrument. While I have the four volumes of "La Escuela Razonada de la Guitar" and I'm on book two I have been working away with the Mauro Guilani studies very helpful along with Sor's twenty studies. The pieces I attempt to play range from "Capricho Arabe" to "Classical Gas". I'm now 66, retired and really can devote time to practice. I've learned that practice can actually benefit playing and I'm having a good time. Talley ho!
:D :)

George Crocket

Re: Hello from St Louis MO

Post by George Crocket » Sat Oct 27, 2018 6:03 pm

Hello drainky. Welcome to the forum. Retirement is the best time for doing lots of practice. :chitarrista: