Greetings from beautiful Loire valley, France!

Errabal49

Greetings from beautiful Loire valley, France!

Post by Errabal49 » Mon Oct 29, 2018 10:57 am

Hi everyone! I am a retired scientist (69 yo) who has always enjoyed listening to classical guitar masters, composers... and players of course. I started playing around on an old Couesnon model (luthier from Mirecourt, France), which was later replaced by various Japanese made models, the only ones available in New Caledonia where I was brought up. While in Australia during my first student years (1969-1974), I took some lessons with late Antonio Losada, a former student of Andrés Segovia, but I did not get much further than acquiring the basics. But the virus was inoculated, and I started learning and playing more regularly. In 1976, I held a position as teacher for debutants at what was then the Ecole de Musique (music school) at Nouméa, New Caledonia, now a Conservatoire managed by an old-time acquaintance, Jean-Pierre Cabée, himself a professional classical guitarist. Then I learned and played intermittently while travelling, and after I got my PhD I got a full-time job as environmental biologist and chemist and had much less time to play the guitar. Yet, while being a visiting scientist at SIO, San Diego, California, I got re-infected by the guitar virus, and I bought a second hand concert guitar (see my first post of Oct 29, 2018, renamed “What model is this guitar?”, but again I had to concentrate of academic duties and responsibilities, and I have neglected playing it… until this year. I am now trying to revisit my basics and some of the pieces I used to play, with less agile fingers but with intact determination, even though I feel a little isolated in my little village near beautiful Angers, France.
Errabal49

GeoffB
Chief moderator
Chief moderator

Re: Greetings from beautiful Loire valley, France!

Post by GeoffB » Mon Oct 29, 2018 11:57 am

Hi Errabal49,