Hello from New York City

remmersmusic

Hello from New York City

Post by remmersmusic » Thu Dec 06, 2018 4:29 am

Hello all!

At the risk of being pedantically specific, but with the desire to be sure to include all relevant info, here are my replies to the series of questions that act as a survey for a great intro post!

1) Do you play guitar? Are you a lover of guitar music, but don't play yourself? Are you a Luthier?
I play guitar! The rest of presently not applicable

2) How long have you played? What is your experience? How old (young) were you when you started? Or did you just start last week?
I've played for about 15 years and I was a teen when I began playing.

3) Do you take lessons? Or are you self-taught? Are you a teacher of Classical Guitar?
4) Did you start with another type of guitar or musical instrument, and then discover the Classical Guitar?
I'll answer these together. I took lessons in my teens after a period of self-teaching, prioritizing jazz, blues, and rock styles. I have been self-teaching since and am currently a teacher of those styles, but not a teacher of Classical guitar. Otherwise, I am a professional classical musician (namely a pianist, vocalist, and conductor).

5) What type of music are you particularly interested in? What pieces are you currently working on?
I am especially interested in folk songs and Spanish music as well as eventually playing arrangements of Bach. I am looking for pieces that are ideal for an advanced reader of sheet music but a relative beginner with Classical style. I am hoping some folks on this forum could help guide me here. A lot of the literature I've been finding for beginner Classical guitarists also assumes a beginner level of musicianship, with concepts such as rhythms and keys being taught alongside the technicals. I am looking for no shortcuts when it comes to Classical technique, mind, but I am growing a bit weary of simplified or beginner approaches to the general musicianship.