Hello from California

EmmettRay

Hello from California

Post by EmmettRay » Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:32 pm

I am an intermediate player for about 20 plus years (grin) and mostly self taught. The resource of the internet has been helpful in identifying all the things I’ve done wrong over the years. And the few things I’ve done right.

Classical guitar has recently (re)peaked my interest over the past year more so than before. I’d account it to an unexpected, out of the blue purchase of a used 1970s-ish, made in Sweden Goya G-10 that I randomly stumbled upon online. It was filthy and had missing strings so I was able to get a very good bargain. I am always on the look out for a good beach/camping guitar so why not? Well, after restringing and cleaning it up… I don’t know… I sort of just fell in love the rich tone and its ease of playability - which I later realized and attribute to the short scale (630 mm) of the guitar. The shorter scale was something I never really considered (ever) but it made a world of difference in feel and playability to me.

I certainly understand the guitar is no high end, finely tuned, hand crafted piece of masterful luthier work but I am certainly pleased with it for now. It is an examined life strangeness to me that this random, supposedly beater guitar purchase re-surged an interest of guitar playing that has until recently been waning. I quickly reconsidered it's value as a beach/camping guitar.

Let's see... I’ve recently acquired a copy of the 2018 Royal Conservatory Guitar Syllabus to sort of gauge what to self-study as reference. It's a great material to own. Tárrega's Adelita, Brouwer's Estudio Sencillo No. 6 and Sor's Opus 31 No. 4 are a (very) small number of pieces I’ve recently worked through.

Anyhow, I've been lurking here for some time and thought I should open an account. Thanks for reading.
Last edited by EmmettRay on Wed Dec 12, 2018 10:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

Erik Zurcher

Re: Hello from San Francisco, California