Hello from England

Miller

Hello from England

Post by Miller » Sat Dec 15, 2018 11:57 am

Just wanted to make an introductory post per the forum rules.

I'm from the south of England, in Romsey but about to move to Bristol. My name is Matt although I prefer my last name because I know far too many Matts! I've been reading this forum for a while now but finally signed up now as I think I would gain more from the forum if I could see pictures being posted and browse the transcriptions properly. In all honesty though I don't think I'm an accomplished enough guitarist to contribute much to the forum :desole:

I have been playing classical guitar for a few years now, having played electric guitar previously for about a decade rather obsessively. I used to play 6-8 hours a day and was rather shocked to find that it didn't really give me much of a head start when I switched to classical guitar! I've never taken a lesson in my life, apart from what I've found online here and there, but I'm reaching a plateau in my playing that I think a teacher would be needed to correct. Unfortunately I'm not in a position with enough free time to do so.

I can play a few pieces up to scratch, almost all of which I learned via tab. Romance, Lagrima, Capricho arabe and Serenata Morisca (anonymous; Tarrega; Barrios). The latter two I think are above my real skill level as any similarly difficult piece I would give up on within minutes of trying to read without tab but I've been practicing them slowly and carefully every day for three years emulating the dynamics of various players until I found my own sweet spots. I sometimes listen to other guitarists play them but always end up feeling like they're not doing it right because they aren't doing it my way.