Hello from York, UK

Bemus07

Hello from York, UK

Post by Bemus07 » Sat Jan 05, 2019 9:22 pm

Hello everyone,

So a little bit about me.

I'm a rocker at heart and started to learn electric guitar when I was 16. However, not being in a band and feeling somewhat unfulfilled musically, I decided to take up classical guitar at 29. I'd often toyed with the idea and discussed doing so with my tutor, as he was classically trained; but I didn't think I had the ability to do it – watching concert players make it look so easy gave me the feeling it was an impossible task.

But then I saw an interview with Milös on BBC News. He played Girl From Ipanena and a video of Libertango was also aired. That was a defining moment for me. I had to play classical guitar and I had to learn that piece.

Five years on and I can proudly say I'm a classical guitarist. It didn't take long for me to get hooked. The whole idea of being able to play bass line, melody, and rhythm without the need for anyone else blew my mind. Learning to read music and enjoying the challenge of learning a new piece was, and still is, incredibly rewarding. Discovering a wealth of classical music was like finding a brand new world.

But that's not all. The classical guitar itself is wondrous instrument and I often admire what I have – the woods, the construction, and the tone - to the point of inspiring me to take woodwork classes and work towards making my own one day. Who would have known that this endeavour would become something much more than was originally set out.

So, here I am. I've currently passed my Grade 6 with merit and have Libertango on order. As I have become more immersed in this classical realm, I thought this would be the perfect place to be. I really do look forward to the journey with Delcamp and its members ahead :)

Erik Zurcher

Re: Hello from York, UK

Post by Erik Zurcher » Sat Jan 05, 2019 9:24 pm

Hello Bemus07 and welcome to Delcamp forum! Enjoy yourself and see you around!