Hello from Fr-r-rosty Alberta, Canada

Cynthia

Hello from Fr-r-rosty Alberta, Canada

Post by Cynthia » Sun Jan 06, 2019 6:28 am

Well hello - I would like to introduce myself. :bye:

My name is Cynthia and I live in Alberta Canada. It's pretty cold here right now and I am looking forward to resuming a passion I had set aside to focus on my special needs daughter. I have hung onto my guitar and all of it accoutrements for a very long time and through a lot of moves. I have never lost my love of the classical guitar even if I no longer have any skills. I have a vintage 1979 Takamine C136S which I am considering reviving and my questions have led me to this group.

I played a LOT through my teens and twenties. First steel string acoustic, self taught with a bad mutant-finger picking style. It was exciting to play with friends who were much more gifted than I. I came to discover that even though I wasn't gifted like they were, with dogged determination and many hours of practice, I could coax wonderful sounds out of my little beast. It gave me peace and joy to make that music. I have a good ear but mediocre coordination which I force to work for me by endless practice. :chitarrista:

As I became busy at College and moved away, I lost that connection and quickly found my playing stagnant. My brother had given me his classical guitar and I decided to take lessons so that I would not have to depend on friends in order to learn new things. I wanted the challenge of learning to read music. Frankly the terror of embarrassing myself before my teacher each week kept me striving to practice hard to learn (for me) progressively difficult pieces.

Ah, then life gets in the way of simple pleasures and I set this love aside to care for my daughter. Sadly she passed away in May of 2017 and after a loooonng hiatus think it's some to force peaceful music out of that old guitar again.