Greetings from north Alabama

metrognome

Greetings from north Alabama

Post by metrognome » Thu Jan 17, 2019 3:26 am

I live in a small town near Huntsville, in north central Alabama about 25 miles south of the Tennessee state line. I'm a retired mechanical engineer by profession. However, I am also a songwriter and multi-instrumentalist (by way of passion.) For the last 12 years or so I've performed 150 - 200 shows per year as a percussionist, however that adventure is slowing down as my generation ages out from the scene. Accordingly, I've become much more focused on song writing and recording. I first started playing guitar in 1964 when I was in Junior High School, after the Beatles magically appeared on the scene. It just looked like too much fun!

I have written songs on guitar, mandolin and Dobro, with most being written on guitar. Last year I borrowed a classical guitar for a few months, and used it to write one of my best songs ever. Based on that success, I have added a classical guitar to my line of instruments and am on a deep dive to learn as much as I can in the shortest possible time. That may sound funny, but at my age that's what it takes; time is no longer on my side.

As for guitar, I am largely self taught. Lately I've been using Truefire courses as a primary source of learning material. In particular, I really get a lot from Brad Carlton's guitar courses. For stringed instruments, I use a Martin DCPA4 steel string acoustic guitar, a Cordoba C5 nylon acoustic, a '52 re-issue Telecaster and an original '68 Gibson ES-355 for electric guitars, an Epiphone Dobro Hound Dog Deluxe square neck resonator guitar, a '66 Fender Precision Bass, and a "The Loar" LM-500-VS mandolin.