Salutations from upstate New York!

Matt

Salutations from upstate New York!

Post by Matt » Fri May 17, 2019 7:26 pm

Hello! My name is Mathhew (you can call me Matt). I'm 21, the fifth of 7 siblings, and I've been playing classical guitar for about 5 to 6 years now.

I started with piano lessons at around 8 years of age. After getting kicked and yelled out of a lesson for sneezing on my teacher's keyboard quite vigorously; my sisters and I quit lessons with her and I decided to try my hand (or mouth I suppose would be more accurate) at brass instruments for a while. My mother was a horn major and my father a tuba major. So I thought it was worth a shot. After practicing cornet for a bit and attending our local community college band in the trumpet section with my mother in the horn section; I decided brass was not for me. So back to piano lessons it was for me and one of the aforementioned 2 sisters.

This time we took lessons with my cousin in law's sister (some of the most fun and enjoyable lessons I've ever taken!). A couple years of the second round of piano lessons passed. But I found I really wasn't enjoying piano that much anymore. I took a break from music all together for a few months to think if it was something that I really enjoyed doing, or, if I was doing it because it was something that my family always did. after thinking for a bit; it felt like something was missing from my life. I took that as a sign that I really did enjoy music. I just needed to find the correct instrument for me.