Hello from Barnsley, South Yorkshire

Ruth McTighe

Hello from Barnsley, South Yorkshire

Post by Ruth McTighe » Thu Aug 01, 2019 9:18 am

Hello, this is my second time of registration. The first was a couple of years ago when I had started having CG lessons, but ended up getting so frustrated with my teacher that I gave up for nearly a year. I've now had an excellent teacher for nearly 3 years, which has confirmed to me I was just unlucky with the previous one.

I started playing the guitar to accompany folk-singing when I was a teenager, and learnt the basics of playing tunes from "A tune a day for guitar book 1". I learnt the piano as a child and got to grade 6 before giving it up to concentrate on school exams. The guitar got put away, and only rediscovered when I moved house shortly before I retired. So nearly 50 years later I've taken up lessons properly and am absolutely loving it. Unlike when I learnt the piano, I actually look forward to my practice sessions. I'm studying pieces at a Grade 4 level, my current favourite being Carcassi study in A minor Op 60 no 7 (very slowly!). I enjoy traditional CG music such as Caracassi, Villa-Lobos, but my teacher is introducing me to more modern and non-European music so I'm learning to enjoy composers like Brouwer and Vincent Lyndsey-Clarke.

I now feel the need to study music theory and analysis. My grade 5 theory was 50 years ago. So I've enrolled in the Open University course A224 Inside Music, and the books will be arriving in the next couple of weeks. When I did something similar with computing, I ended up getting so hooked I completed a BSc in Computing, which I received the week I retired. So you never know, I might end up with a music degree - watch this space!

I'm looking forward to being part of this community

Ruth

CathyCate

Re: Hello from Barnsley, South Yorkshire

Post by CathyCate » Thu Aug 01, 2019 12:12 pm

Welcome to the Delcamp classical guitar forum Ruth!

What a wonderful introduction. :D